Customers are rightfully curious about the key ingredient in VITAL PROTEINS products. So, is collagen vegan? In short, the collagen in our products is not vegan, as there is no vegan source of collagen.
While our hydrolysed Collagen Peptides contain no gluten or dairy ingredients, and have no added sweeteners, the product does contain one singular ingredient that, in itself, is not vegan: collagen.
Below, we explore collagen further: what is collagen, the benefits of collagen, what collagen is made from, the best ways to get collagen, as well as why collagen is not vegan. Scroll on to take a look.
What are the Benefits of Collagen?
Let’s start with a refresher on the benefits of collagen. Collagen is important because our body’s natural collagen production begins to decline as we age.
To ensure the body has enough of the ingredients required for collagen production, it may be necessary to add collagen, which contains necessary amino acids, to the diet.
Collagen is special because it contains an abundance of the three amino acids that you won’t find in meaningful amounts in many other foods (glycine, proline and hydroxyproline).
What is Collagen Made From?
Our bodies naturally produce collagen – a major component of skin, joints, ligaments, tendons and cartilage – but the production of collagen slows down as we age. This is why adding collagen to our diets has become our mission.
Our famous hydrolysed Collagen Peptides is bovine-sourced from cow hide.